21 things I’ve learned in 21 years

The idea to formulate a list of 21 things I’ve learned in 21 years came from a dear friend, Rowena Zuercher. Even though my 21-year anniversary of being a human on earth was in December, it’s never too late or early to celebrate, right?

So here is what I know to be true:

  1. I receive much joy in finding food that is discounted and creating a recipe with what I gather. I receive even more joy when it turns out to be incredibly delicious.
  2. Music has a way of making me feel less alone. I’d recommend: “She Used to Be Mine” by Julia Nunes, “Scared to be Lonely” by Martin Garrix, “You Were Born” by Cloud Cult and “You Speak” by Audrey Assad
  3. Flowers are my love language.
  4. I no longer agree with the things my high school self posted on Facebook. Timehop is a beautiful app that has aided in this discovery.
  5. Home is where the heart is. When you’ve lived as many places as I have, this cliche phrase rings true even more.
  6. I identify more as a spiritual being rather than a Christian.
  7. Grief comes in many forms and it is an incredibly important part of life.
  8. I can be a vegan minus the cheese. I cannot eat vegan cheese. Nope. Neva. Nada.
  9. If you want to continue to enjoy something, don’t enjoy it too excessively.
  10. You attract the right things when you have a sense of who you are.
  11. In the words of one of my favorite humans Rachel Held Evans, “Real vulnerability requires mutuality & presence, an ongoing give-&-take primarily cultivated with your ‘real life’ family, friends, church.”
  12. Women rights are human rights. Climate change is real. Black lives matter. Love is love. Water is life. Immigrants make America great.
  13. Biking in the rain is quite fun.
  14. I thrive when I have mentors in my life who give me the space to freely express my thoughts and feelings about anything and everything.
  15. I love doing things alone.
  16. I want to be like Mary Berry on the Great British Baking Show when I grow up.
  17. “Privilege is when you think something is not a problem because it’s not a problem to you personally.”
  18. If you need a good song to get swaggy to check out “Congratulations” by Post Malone. Oh, and check out his hair, it’s what they call “hair goals.”
  19. You’re going to change your mind and that’s okay.
  20. Dogs really are man’s best friend.
  21. It’s healthy to laugh at yourself. Life’s too short to take yourself too seriously.

As another one of my favorite humans, Danielle Doby writes, “I am still learning. When I am able to move from a space of inquiry with the world around me, instead from a place of all-knowing, I open up to the possibility to invite growth in. There is usually a shade of anxiety attached to not having the answers, where our fears craves certainty and something concrete. What is often overlooked is that there is so much freedom in living in the unknown. It’s there, in that wide open space, we hold the power to create something we haven’t experienced before.”

So here’s to 21 more years of learning, laughing, cooking and living into the unknown.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jan Kauffman says:

    You use to love watching Martha Stewart when you were young. I’m not surprised that you want to be like Mary Berry 🙂 Can’t wait to see how this love of cooking, living with intentional looks like in the years to come. And the Danielle Doby quote – perfect!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

